Selling all our stuff and the butterflies!

Dad and I at Xuanwu Lake, Nanjing
Dad and I at Xuanwu Lake, Nanjing

In October 2014, Nick and I visited my parents in Nanjing, China. We never expected to fall in love with China like we did. And to be fair, I think I fell in love WAY HARDER than my clean-air-loving husband! I wrote about our visit here, in my Mum’s blog. Thing is, I actually fell in love hard enough so that before our plane had even landed back in Sydney, I was talking to Nick about moving there. Like, for reals.

Nick and I have been living in Sydney for over two years now. It’s an amazing city with so much to offer. And we have said multiple times that it’s not for us. We knew that from the moment we landed here. We made a life here, a wonderful comfortable life full of sun and surfing and sailing and skateboarding! All the time knowing that one day, when it felt right, we would sell up and move on. Sydney will always have a special place in our hearts. After all, it was here in Sydney that Nick asked me to marry him. And now is the time for us to prepare to say goodbye to Sydney and hello to new opportunities in China!

Moving is never easy. Its natural to get attached to silly inanimate objects. Like how attached I have gotten to my Ikea couch that folds out into THE MOST comfortable sofa bed I have ever encountered!!! I love how eclectic our walls are, from the giant Halo poster in the hallway to the Balinese Single Fin surfboard we have on the lounge wall, and the amazing Rhys Cooper screen print my Blondie bought me as a wedding gift. We have created a home here and leaving it will be hard. Changes are always hard. And thats how I know its going to be worth it! Some things, like the screen prints, we will take home to NZ to put into storage. Some of the smaller items, like all the notes, photos and cards from our Airbnb guests, will be packaged up very carefully and taken to China with us. But the bulk of the items in our lounge will be slowly sold between now and August. Bye bye fold out couch. Bye bye to my beloved extendable dining table (also an Ikea second hand purchase. Can you tell I’m addicted?!).

I saw a quote the other day that I thought was quite pertinent, “If nothing ever changed, there would be no butterflies.” I want butterflies! I want the butterflies that come from being in a completely foreign environment, the ones that fly from the exhilaration of feeling lost. And even though packing up, selling up and moving is going to be super duper hard, it is going to be so worth the effort when we land in China and those butterflies hit me! BAM! Right in the puku!

This blog is going to be me working through all the bumps in the road, both pre-move as well as post. And there are going to be some BIG bumps! If you’re a sucker for punishment, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

